Fillet brazed steel bikes, handcrafted in Oklahoma.

WWRD?

The two frames for ECTO/ Flying Dog  are headed up to Shawnee Trail Bike and Performance Coatings. They will get a ceramic coating, and I believe these will be the first frames they’ve done. We’re all eager to see how they turn out. My next project is a disc brake road bike.  This is a relatively new phenomenon, so I’m mostly on my own with the design. Geometry wise, it’s a road bike. No big deal. The disc specific parts of the deal are what will be up to me. One of the things I’ll be doing different is the front brake mount and dropouts. Paragon machine Works makes a really nice brake mount that I’ve used a few times. They are out of stock currently, and I really don’t want to wait and see if it becomes available in time. Also, I really couldn’t find any front dropouts that I liked. So, I thought about one of my framebuilding heroes, Rody Walter of Groovy Cycles. Rody is one of those guys who isn’t just a framebuilder, but an awesome overall fabricator. So in pondering my options I thought, “What would Rody do?”  Yeah. So I got online and ordered up some .190″ 4130 plate.

That’s going to be the front brake mount and dropouts for the fork. It will be a lot more work, but what the hell. I do this because I like it, and it will allow me to put more of a personal touch on the frameset. Hell, that’s why people get custom bikes, right? After this I think I”m going to have to make a WWRD? sign for my shop:)

 

Leave a Reply

