Fillet brazed steel bikes, handcrafted in Oklahoma.

Upsize the fantasy, yo

Recently framebuilding icon Richard Sachs posted on his blog something called “downsize the fantasy” in reference to over reliance on machinery. Well, since the machinery is half the fun for some people I just have to poke a tiny bit of good-natured fun;) I’ve slightly upsized my fixture footprint recently.

Although I can make a 90degree miter like this faster with a half round file, this was an initial proof of concept for me.

This one is the one I was interested in, making an angled cut with just a couple of minutes of set up time. In the next few days there will be a tail on the fixture to keep the cuts in phase.  I’ll be installing a chunk of round stock that’s the same size as a bottom bracket shell on an adjustable slide so I can cut tubes to the right length without a ton of setup or trial and error. I have to set the angle with a big protractor, so it’s not totally pro. I works, it only takes a tiny bit of math and rotary tables are frakkin expensive. That part of the fantasy will have to wait a while.

Blurry pic, but you can see how tight the fit is. It’s also the right angle. I’m hoping that will speed things up just a bit, and more importantly save me some unintended shoulder workouts and worn out half round files. Those files, incidentally,  cost more than a decent hole saw and probably last about as long.

Anyway, I should have some frame stuff posted soon.

2 responses

  1. jason

    Glad your putting that extrusion I sent you to good use. Oh and Richard’s a wanker

    February 21, 2012 at 10:46 am

    • edozbicycles

      Yeah, but so are you and I still like you.

      February 21, 2012 at 11:25 am

Leave a Reply

