Fillet brazed steel bikes, handcrafted in Oklahoma.

DIY gone too far?

Never.

So after the isp experiment on my monster cross bike, I decided to up the ante. I found a set of spare hardware for an old style USE seatpost.

I bought 3 ft of 27.2 mm 3v/2.5al titanium tubing

and started drilling

This is what came out

Yes, this post is now cut down to a more reasonable 350mm (ish) and it’s ready for testing on my mtb. I probably will spare you pictures of my mutilated inner thighs and genitals should it fail.

UPS also brought tubes for the next 2 builds, so I should stop screwing around and get busy. Y’all come back now, ya hear?

2 responses

  1. Joey Korkames

    That post looks WW approved! Who needs Thom$on? How did you miter that Ti tube?

    May 23, 2011 at 2:43 pm

    • edozbicycles

      So far it’s given me no trouble. I mitered it with a half round file. Ti is slightly softer than steel, so I got lots of soft, stringy shavings in the floor.

      May 23, 2011 at 2:52 pm

Leave a Reply

