Fillet brazed steel bikes, handcrafted in Oklahoma.

Smoked Out and losing my (touring) virginity

Not much building content today, it occurs to me (albeit not naturally) that I should occasionally talk about myself and my insights and philosophies. Also it might be nice to show that I actually ride bikes once in a while, because everyone knows not to trust a skinny chef.

I’m going on my very first bike tour tomorrow. Yeah, I should be in bed but I’m not. I’m pretty much packed and letting a big burger with fried egg and buffalo mozzarella settle in my tummy. It seems that sitting around in your underwear and late night internet sessions go together like peanut butter and jelly. So I’m having one last internet and underwear sandwich before I leave for the weekend.

I hope nothing breaks and that I don’t hate it. I will at least have good panniers, I borrowed some really nice Ortliebs from a friend. They are made from tarp like material, so my stuff won’t get wet at least. I also get a chance to “rock” my vintage Cannondale rear rack. It’s white, which matches my bike. I’m not usually fashion conscious like that, but this rack is pretty cool in a nerdy sort of way. My cross bike didn’t have rack mounts until this afternoon, but luckily it was slow at work and I have a TIG machine there. I may post some pictures when I get back, or not. If everything goes well, I’ll at least post pics of my last minute add on rack mounts. If you don’t see them, that probably means they broke and dropped my panniers into my spokes and catapulted me into some parallel dimension or something.

With that I’ll leave you with a Smoked Out for the weekend. Jay from Dallas tells people about the Waltworks tubing project that got him started and the 3 frames he’s built as a result.

http://www.velocipedesalon.com/forum/f22/phantasm-cycle-works-17541.html

One response

  1. Ann

    Touring is the MOST fun. Hope you love it.

    October 2, 2010 at 4:54 am

Leave a Reply

