Fillet brazed steel bikes, handcrafted in Oklahoma.

Slapping my inner tool whore (and bonus Smoked Out)

If you know me, you know I love tools. I’m not that much different than most guys, except that I will pass over a chainsaw for a good axe. I’ll go right past the brand new nail guns at Home Despot in favor of a vintage hammer at an estate sale. It’s “how I roll” as the hipsters say. Anyway, Anvil  http://anvilbikes.com/ makes most of the best framebuilding tooling around. They have a brake bridge fixture, and it’s real nice. It’s $550 though. That’s not how I roll at the moment, unfortunately. One of the things I’ve learned in my metal fab career is that there is rarely a better thing to use to fixture something than what actually goes there. Hence my Okie brake bridge fixture.

The bridge itself is another story. I bought a bridge for this frame, but when it came time to install it I decided it looked just a tad wimpy. It’s strong enough, by far, but it just had a delicate look to it and I wanted a little more beef. So I did what poor boys learn to do, I made it work with what I had laying around. That happened to be some 1/2″ cromo tubing. I cut the center section out of the bridge and cut short pieces of the larger tubing to slip over the stubs.

You can see how that went together in the first picture. Then it all gets brazed up.

Now it’s soaking and tomorrow I’ll file it all down real pretty and add cable guides.  That’s it for today, I’ll leave you with another Smoked Out entry. This time it’s Alexis Dold of Villin Cycles. http://www.velocipedesalon.com/forum/f22/villin-cycles-17417.html

One response

  1. Nice little tool!

    September 29, 2010 at 8:33 pm

Leave a Reply

