Fillet brazed steel bikes, handcrafted in Oklahoma.

Tooling!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This piece has been a long time coming. Seatstays are by far the most time consuming and frustrating part of a frame for me. Trial and error, file/check/file to get one right. Then you’ve got to make the other one match. I’ve been planning a fixture to cut them on the lathe for a while now, and it’s finally done.

This is a 1″ thick chunk of steel plate, with 2 pieces of 1/4″ flatbar and some aluminum hex stock.

The hex stock was drilled out to 5/8″, which is the diameter of the stays I’m using. I’ll eventually need to make cradles for each size of tube I’ll use. The stays are neatly held by the cradles,

and then clamped down by the flatbar retainers.

The 3/8″ roundbar on the back side is welded on with the same spacing as the wedge on my toolpost.

It slides on and clamps just like the tool holders that are made to fit the post.

I haven’t tried it out yet, but I think it’s gonna be a huge accelerator.  That’s it for now, and I’ll leave you with another Smoked Out entry. This time it’s Nick Crumpton, of Crumpton Cycles in Austin Tx. Nick does badass carbon fiber frames, made to order.

http://www.velocipedesalon.com/forum/f22/crumpton-cycles-16366.html

Leave a Reply

