Fillet brazed steel bikes, handcrafted in Oklahoma.

More fixtures

I left you with the tube block, now I’ll post it in action. IMG_9255IMG_9256

That hole saw makes a pretty good cut, as long as you feed it slow. That’s .058″ which is thicker than a frame tube. It’s what I make seat tube sleeves from. Thinner frame tubes require  slower feed rate, but they’ll cut just fine.

IMG_9258It makes a clean cut on the first shot,IMG_9259and that makes a nice tight miter.

Mitering main tubes is one thing, but chainstays is another.  That’s where this next fixture comes in. I started this one with the milling setup I showed you a few posts ago.

IMG_9261I drilled a hole between the two pieces with my handy dandy new drill press, now I can bolt the pieces together to hold my Anvil dummy axle.

IMG_9262There it is, with a pair of stays in it. The big round thing slides in the slot, and centers the front ends of the stays. It also gives me a clue how much tire clearance I’m gonna have. In the next few days I’m going to setup a clamp to hold the front of the stays.  Then I’ll be able to miter chainstays on it, too.

2 responses

  1. Wiruth

    those look like my drop outs?

    November 16, 2009 at 2:30 pm

    • edozbicycles

      They are your dropouts. I got hem ready to braze onto the frame, but somehow my last blog post disappeared:(

      November 16, 2009 at 10:11 pm

Leave a Reply

