Fillet brazed steel bikes, handcrafted in Oklahoma.

New fixture

This one I’ve been wanting and waiting on for a while. IMG_9252It’s a tube clamp for my lathe. It mounts on the toolpost and you clamp a tube in it. Put a holesaw in the chuck, rotate the compound to the desired angle and it miters a tube to the very angle you need. This is going to speed up the process of cutting frame tubes, and allow me to do a few things that weren’t really feasible before.

IMG_9253It’s got a bit of up/down adjustment,  so I can make off-center cuts as well. That will be useful for making lugs and all that bilaminate stuff I’ve been wanting to do.  I can also do some milling out of slots and stuff in tubes, and drill holes that are perfectly lined up.  I need to get a few holesaws and try it out this weekend, so there will be some updates soon with the carnage, um, I mean results;)

2 responses

  1. lou

    Where did you get this tube clamp fixture for your lathe. I need one.
    Thanks;
    Lou

    December 14, 2009 at 10:52 pm

    • edozbicycles

      I had one of the machinists at work make it for me. Then I welded it to one of my tool holders.

      December 14, 2009 at 11:59 pm

Leave a Reply

