Fillet brazed steel bikes, handcrafted in Oklahoma.

Breaking the silence

So I’ve been pretty lax about updating this, mostly because there hasn’t been much going on. There have been a couple of things to report on, though. Adam’s frame was hanging in my shop, when Perry came to have me put another cable stop on, his son Jack was with him and claimed the frame for himself. The only issue, was that he didn’t like the wishbone, he wanted s bend seatstays. It’s not like I haven’t cut a frame in half before, so I said ok.

IMG_9232

before

Now I wanted to do something different, because that’s just me. A lot of times I take ideas from various sources and mix them up, then put my own spin on them. When Keith Bontrager built frames, he made stays out of straight gauge chro-mo slipped inside a larger piece of straight gauge.

bonty111If you look close, you can see the seam in the seatstays right below the brake bosses.

metalwork 2009 514Steve Garro of Coconino does it the same way. I decided to spice that idea up a tad, so I added lug points to my seam.

IMG_9240Sorry about the blur. Heres another shot.

IMG_9239So add a couple of braces and the deal is done. Once again, some tight tire clearance.

IMG_9244It’s actually pretty decent around the sides of the tire, and the dropouts are all the way forward which isn’t a probable position in real life.

IMG_9246If the tire looks little off, it’s partially because of the camera angle, and partially because I hand bent the stays. I bent the first one, then bent the second one to match. Well, almost match. I’ll do these stays again, so it’ll be worth building a setup for getting them the same.

Currently, I’m looking at drill presses. I want to get one soon, because I have several projects lined up for one already. Like building a fixture to match seatstays, and a tube bender.

Anyway, more to come I guess.

One response

  1. Brian

    Those look great! Love the points.

    November 9, 2009 at 12:02 am

Leave a Reply

