Fillet brazed steel bikes, handcrafted in Oklahoma.

The strength of brass

I’ve heard many debates about joining methods and what is stronger than what and blah, blah, blah. People will nerd out over whether tig is stronger than lugs, or brass is too soft to be as strong as whatever. There comes a point where it doesn’t matter how much stronger one method is than the other, when they are both more than strong enough for the application. Where am I going with this, you ask? You may recall the picture of my ghetto milling setup that included a couple of hold down bolts. Those were regular grade 5 hex bolts, brazed to short pieces of steel flatbar the same width as the t slot in my lathe compound. I was tightening them today and one of them broke. Immediately I cursed my braze job, because I had only run just a tad bit of brass around the bolt head, barely enough for any buildup around the edge. Upon closer inspection, I was kind of amazed.

IMG_9238Here you may or may not see the slight bit of brass I laid in is still intact, holding on to the broken chunks of the bolt head. Not bad for maybe 1/16″ of brass.

2 responses

  1. Brian

    Been awfully quiet around here lately… you still building?

    November 8, 2009 at 6:48 pm

    • edozbicycles

      I’ve got some pics to post of converting the frame for Adam from wishbone to s bend for Jack. I’ve been working on Brent’s a bit and trying to get some more tooling set up. I guess I should post something.

      November 8, 2009 at 6:54 pm

Leave a Reply

