Fillet brazed steel bikes, handcrafted in Oklahoma.

Flyin’

Well crap. I got started on Adam’s frame last Saturday and I got a ton of stuff done in one day. BB, head tube, down tube and seat tube all mitered and ready to go. I went to start on the seat tube sleeve and realized I didn’t have enough tubing to make one. I had enough to make everything but the E at the bottom, and then I found a small piece cut off the last one. (Hooray for saving tube scraps) I decided since the E is not structural, I could just make the sleeve in 2 pieces and braze it together. For some strange reason, unlike most everything else I’ve been doing, this whole deal went completely according to plan. Seriously, not one single hook or curve. It’s like the cosmos aligned just for me this weekend. 

IMG_8657

There it is, and see that little gold line?

IMG_8658

That’s where I brazed it. No one will ever know if they don’t read this:)

So after that, I got the water bottle bosses brazed into the seat and down tubes. The front end is ready to tack up, when I get around to it. I also got the seatstays for Perry’s frame, so this weekend is gonna be full. It’s pretty cool to see everything flow well, and not feel like I’m getting kicked in the nuts every other step. That being said, I’m sure I’m in for a rude awakening soon. 

More this weekend:))

Leave a Reply

