Fillet brazed steel bikes, handcrafted in Oklahoma.

seatstay fail

This build gets s-bend seatstays. I remember a discussion on the framebuilders list recently about the new stays from True Temper and how they weren’t quite what some of the builders liked. From the guys I really look up to, the opinion was to just bend your own.  If it’s good enough for my heroes, by god it’s good enough for me. Yeah, most of those guys have been building 30+ frames a year for a while, and have their techniques down. Not so much in my case. Fortunately the dropouts are so tall that I’ll only be using about 2/3 of the tube. I was able to move down the tube a bit and get it bent, thereby salvaging a set. One of them is hosed though, so I guess I have one extra in reserve for something.  Note to self: In the future, if you’re gonna do s-bend stays either buy them prebent or buy multiple sets for the inevitable trial and error losses.

IMG_8649

Gotta love that little kink.

IMG_8650

That’s #2 down.

IMG_8651

OK, so now I have a pair of almost perfectly matching seatstays. Seriously, until I get some badass bending equipment, I’ll be buying s-bends for anything that requires them.

One response

  1. Brian

    S-bends are great. I’m still loving the simple, single curves you did on mine. Very graceful and unique, and tons of clearance.

    August 24, 2009 at 8:38 pm

Leave a Reply

