Fillet brazed steel bikes, handcrafted in Oklahoma.

Bailed out

There’s a reason they named that place Best Hardware, I guess. There’s a little mom and pop hardware store here in Tulsa that goes by that name. The kinda place that’s had the same guys working there for years, and every high school kid in the neigborhood has had a summer job there. They rewire your lamps, they’ll spend 30 minutes helping you find just the right bolt for your whatever, and they’ll just generally have something that will work for almost anything you need.

So flashback to a couple of weeks ago, that brass tubing that was paper thin and 500mm long (which was barely long enough) cost me $8.80 from Nova cycles. After the frustration that came out of that deal, I went to Best and prayed for hardware salvation. I had one of those kids going up into the attic, looking all over hell and gone in that store, but I finally found what I wanted. A 3ft piece of 9/32″ brass tubing. I’ts 1/4″ I.D. which is just big enough for a 6mm brake cable housing to slide through. Better yet, the tubing and a bottle of Liquid Wrench cost me 6 bucks. Best of all, I had 3 ft of it, so I was able to do some test bends on the extra length so there were no surprises.  So last night I got the internal tube in Perry’s top tube:)

CIMG0003

 

And while hanging out at my favorite local bike shop which just happens to be acroos the street from Best hardware, I saw this.

 

CIMG0001

What’s it take for people to buy a bike that fits?

3 responses

  1. comedy. there’s spacers above the stem for just that right dialed fit.

    August 16, 2009 at 7:30 pm

  2. Brian

    Did you say “… 1/4″ I.D. which is just big enough for a 6mm brake cable housing to slide through…”

    So the housing gets threaded through the frame too?

    August 16, 2009 at 8:35 pm

  3. edozbicycles

    Yeah, he wants to use Avid mechanicals and full housing.

    August 16, 2009 at 10:21 pm

Leave a Reply

