Fillet brazed steel bikes, handcrafted in Oklahoma.

Artistic License

is evidently a bad thing to give me. Well, maybe not a bad thing, but it’s not something to tell me I have when you want something in a timely manner. Brent’s cross bike, specifically. He’s pretty much letting me go wild on it, and I’m sure he’ll be very pleased when it’s done. However, every time I get a new idea, or think I can refine an old one, it extends the process. I think this is going to be one of the issues I’m going to have to overcome.  Richard Sachs made mention of this once, saying something like a builder can always strive for perfection, but has to know when it’s good enough to let go, even though it’s not perfect. Letting go is going to be the hardest thing for me to do with a frame. Sachs also said it doesn’t matter what happens to the frame after you’re done, or whether the customer ‘gets it” as long as you’ve done the best job you can on it.

The true test of whether or not I buy into his thinking will be the first time I see one of mine for sale on Craigslist, cast away, mistreated or god forbid, in the hands of some trendy punk who’s got it all hipster fixied out complete with 10″ flat bars, and color coordinated rims.

Anyway, more on that later. Maybe.  Since I’m once again stalled on Brent’s frame waiting for material that I want to use but don’t actually have, I started on Perry’s 29er. It’s pretty straight forward, and there’s tons of things to do that aren’t subject to my artistic ADD.

IMG_8527

BB prepped and seat tube mitered, sitting in the fixture.

BTW, thank you to the people who have faith in me. To the ones who are thinking about it, the longer you wait, the better I get. Just don’t everyone wait at once;) 
One response

  1. Brent

    LOL!!! I understand.. Its OK. You know the frame will be in good hands, always with classic, timeless components. I still have every bike i have ever owned.

    July 30, 2009 at 2:06 am

Leave a Reply

