Fillet brazed steel bikes, handcrafted in Oklahoma.

Brian’s frame back from Spectrum

IMG_7417I have to say, I dig it. I love the darts and the masked off seat tube sleeve. I love the little touches like the grey on the seat tube bottle bosses and the rings around the outside of the bb shell. They even trimmed the brazed on stainless chainstay protector in grey.  I hate that the low spots on the head tube fillets show up though:( I didn’t realize how much the paint would accentuate those spots until it was too late for this frame and my cross bike. That shit won’t happen again, if I have to buy a can of primer and check it myself before I’m done.

That wouldn’t be my first choice for base color, but evidently it wasn’t Brian’s choice either. Brian isn’t too happy, he wanted an “industrial browny bronze” but got pastel yellow instead. They did hit the XTR Grey nail pretty squarely on the head, though.

Currently, he’s got an email in to Spectrum asking them for a redo. They were pretty easy to work with when he was discussing colors and artwork and all that stuff, now that they have his $425 we’ll see how their customer service is.   (Note to self, always specify color codes when having a frame painted)

9 responses

  1. Looks really good. The yellow looks good with the gray (or is it grey?). Though, I can’t blame a man for wanting a brown bike. 🙂

    The only change I would suggest is making the headbadge E the base yellow.

    July 9, 2009 at 4:53 am

    • edozbicycles

      Actually, the head badge should get the paint sanded off and polished. It is stainless, after all.

      July 9, 2009 at 2:11 pm

  2. Brian

    The quality of the finish is phenomenal. The closer I look, the more impressed I am. The detail work is pristine, and very classy. It makes me with I liked yellow more! Maybe it’ll grow on me, but the logo glitch needs to be fixed, so it’s going back either way. Eric, nothing but more great compliments from those who have seen these pics. Album with more pics here: http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=39136&id=643883144&l=437010182c

    July 9, 2009 at 5:43 am

  3. Brian

    I didn’t get a closeup of the headbadge, but it’s not painted with the greay. It does have the clearcoat over it, but it still looks sharp.

    July 9, 2009 at 2:22 pm

  4. Wiruth

    I think it looks great. Funny, i was planing on a similar paint sceam but with different colors. I was planing on matching the “darts” with the “darts” on the fork you are making. I am leaning towards the light blue and orange paint job on the 1966 Ford GT-40 MKII.

    July 9, 2009 at 3:10 pm

  5. Wiruth

    This one. My god, that sound!! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BdumbIokuB4

    July 9, 2009 at 4:42 pm

    • edozbicycles

      Yeah, Ford didn’t really have idle in mind when they designed them;)

      July 10, 2009 at 1:59 am

      • Wiruth

        No, more like 200.

        July 10, 2009 at 8:21 pm

  6. Brian

    Update: Spectrum agreed to re-do the frame, and were very cool and professional about it. I went ahead and built it up to ride it tonight before sending it back. Dirty pics to come.

    July 9, 2009 at 7:34 pm

Leave a Reply

